Photo by Glen E. Friedman

What Punk Rock can teach us about change in education…

Immersed in thought…
3 min readMar 7, 2019

--

Whether you love it or hate it, the Punk movement might have a kernel of inspiration for educators. I am a child of of the 80’s, born in 1970, and now I live near the epicenter of the D.C. punk sound. Black Flag’s Henry Rollins, Minor Threat, Bad Brains and other iconic underground bands were a big part of my musical growth in the form of multiple copied cassettes passed around the town of Normal, Illinois (pause for irony).

But there was nothing “normal” about the sound and style of 1980’s Punk music. It was fast, do-it-yourself, confusingly pro and anti political at the same time, and liberating within the confines of a myopic former era. I can recall my 13 year old self devouring the tracks played by the local Illinois Wesleyan University radio station, writing down titles and lyrics for future reference.

“When you don’t want to be a part of something, you do it yourself.”

Ian Mackaye

But what does this have to do with teaching and learning? A mentor once told me early in my career that schools should strive to be counter-cultural. I took this as looking at society and seeing what needs to be transformed to make the human condition more happy and empathetic. On a deeper level- “to heal/repair the world”.

I can’t deny that there are still corners of the Punk movement that espouse views that counter an equity and inclusion mindset. As abrasive as the sound, lyrics, and attitude could be, I feel that Punk could be positive at its heart- a place for those who were feeling disillusioned and marginalized by what became a decade noted for excess and the worship of materialism (the 80's).

Don’t teachers feel that way some times? Striving for a positive outcome or goal while dedicating huge amounts of energy to express what that actually is. I am a big fan of lists, here are some parting thoughts:

  • Punk is a DIY attitude, most teacher-leaders have examples of this in their communities and schools. They create, recreate, and constantly challenge themselves to transform perspectives every day.
  • If indeed education is counter cultural like Punk Rock, would it make sense for educators to recall that frequently in their work? For example- one of my core values is to increase access to education for more people and to help those who do have access move forward empathetically. In keeping that as a counter cultural norm, I can remind myself daily that there is a greater goal to my work that keeps me driven and focused.
  • Mayhem, loudness, and messiness are all part of experiencing Punk Rock. There is a beautiful messiness to school and working with young people- embrace it.

I cite one of the inspiring foundations of my recent altMBA experience: I promise I will continue to keep making a ruckus. And then I will teach someone else to do so, too. Punk rock is a movement of ruckus making, much like rock and roll, jazz, rap, hip hop, and others in their time.

Teaching and learning are art forms that challenge perceptions and opinions daily, I continue to find joy in that artistry.

Questioning anything and everything, to me, is punk rock.

Henry Rollins

--

--

Immersed in thought…

Jeremy Goldstein on Education, Culture, and Innovation- opinions are my own.